Routines, smiles, milestones and joy.

My my, it has been awhile since I’ve updated! I think I feel like I have to write a really long post, but don’t really have time to do that.  So it’s like a long friend you’ve been dying to call, but never do because you don’t have an uninterrupted hour to do so.  Are you with me? I post lots of pictures on Facebook and seem to forget about my blog.  I promise to get better about posting, and will try to do so at least once a week.

What have we been up to?  Well my title says it all.

Routines
I have been trying so hard to get in a routine with baby boy.  Figuring out when he naps, how to deal with nap time when we’re out and about, when is best to bathe him, ect.  It’s so fun being an observer of my baby.  Watching for that magic moment when he rubs his eyes and I help him go to sleep or the ever fun watching him spit up over his clean outfit I just changed, from the other clean outfit I put on 5 minutes ago.  I’ve always had so much fun people watching, but baby watching, who knew it would be this fun?! 

We’ve got a pretty good routine going…Wake up at 8, bath, nurse, play, nap from 9:30-12:30 (My best time to get things done!  I’m like a hurricane cleaning, cooking, researching…) and then 2 more naps during the day and then off to bed by 8:30.   He’s finally just started sleeping 7-8 hour stretches at night.  Yay!  I used to say his happiest time of the day was in the morning, but now he’s just a happy boy all the time!DSCN4187

DSCN4186

Smiles

Levi has become this happy, joyful little boy!  It’s amazing because his smiles are so contagious!  He started smiling on purpose around 6 weeks  and now you’d swear he was eating the air as he smiles from side to side.  Here are a few of his different smiles:

DSCN4168

His “straight up chillin” smile.

DSCN4286

Levi’s “eating the air” smile

DSCN4294

His “coy” smile

DSCN4297

“Up to no good” smile

DSCN4359

And my favorite, Levi’s “I love my Mommy” smile.  Makes my heart melt!!!

Milestones

At little man’s 2 month check up, he weighed 12lbs, 2oz, still measured 22.5 inches long and 16inch head circumfrance.  He’s chunked out since then though as he gets heavier and heavier!  

At 10 weeks Levi can:

*Sleep a 7-8 hour stretch at night

*Track objects with his eyes

*Grip a rattle or other object

*Hold his head up for a very long time…his neck is so strong!

*Get control over his hands to rub his eyes when sleepy and cover them when it’s too bright.  He also strokes his face, my arms when content.  So sweet!

*Roll onto his side, but not onto his tummy yet!

*Lift his head, like he’s trying to sit upright in his carseat and when laying down

Quirks…

*Drools, chews on his hand constantly (pre-teething???)

*Prefers to be at home.  He’s definitely more at ease in a familiar place

*Loves to be held!  What baby doesn’t though?  His name in Hebrew means “attached” so I’m not surprised! 

*Can instantly be quieted when you put your hand under his head and bottom and bounce him up and down while saying “shhhhh” loudly in his ear.  He can be screaming, but the second you do that, he stops.  It’s amazing!!

*Levi is already such a book worm!  His favorite books include, “Mr. Brown can Moo, Can you?”, “The Wheels on the Bus” and “Mi Libro Camiones de Bomberos”   Check him out below, “reading.”  😀

DSCN4229

Joy

What joy it’s been to be a mom.  Nate and I were laughing about how we don’t remember what life was like before Levi, in a good way!  We can’t picture it any different now.  Nate is such a wonderful, wonderful Daddy.  His face lights up when he sees his little boy and tells Levi what good buddies they are going to be.  My heart soars every time I see my little man in his Daddy’s arms!

That’s it for now.  We’re moving to a bigger apartment in 2 weeks so we’ll see how much posting I can get done between now and then. 

Whew, I’m tired!  All that typing made me sleepy.  Happy Monday!

DSCN4243

Leave a Reply

